Oats. The iconic breakfast grain that everyone knows and loves. Yet it causes the most confusion when it comes to being a gluten-free grain or not. Low-and-behold, oats are inherently gluten-free and safe for Celiacs. Yet due to common growing, processing, and manufacturing practices, most oats end up cross-contaminated with gluten, thus losing their status as safe and natural.
Oats, how I love thee. From oatmeal to granola, oats are a whole grain superstar. That is, as long as they’re certified gluten-free. They must be certified gluten-free because most oats are grown in rotated fields with gluten-containing grains like what are are also processed in the same facilities and lines are gluten-containing products and grains. It’s rather sad since so many oats are then unsafe, making the Celiac sufferer in a conundrum. (Learn more about contamination and safety from this great audio-cast with GF Harvest and Jules Shepard!) Thankfully there are some great companies out there processing safe and certified gluten-free oats for those of us who need them! I don’t think I would live with out my oatmeal and granola!Read More