Millet is a gluten-free whole grain that may just surprise you in it’s various uses and versatility. For one, it’s commonly used and associated with bird seed. Thus it’s often forgotten about and over shadowed by quinoa, buckwheat, oats, etc. But let me tell you, millet is a rising star and will soon be a staple grain in your gluten-free pantry!
Since millet is in the grass family, it’s a whole grain (unlike quinoa and buckwheat!). It’s very small and comes in a few different varieties and colors. Most commonly and widely grown as Peal Millet, but also Finger, Proso (common in the US), and Foxtail varieties. Colors range from white, yellow, grey, and red. It’s one of the ancient grains and has been cultivated as a staple for centuries, especially in hot, arid climates such as Africa and Asia. Yes, now-a-days it is commonly used as the main component of bird seed and other animal feed. But for human consumption, it is eaten just as any whole grain (very similar to couscous in texture, but gluten-free and is somewhat creamy and fluffy), made into a flour for flat breads and other baked goods, grits/porridge, alcoholic beverages, or my favorite, puffed!Read More