One of the Top 8. A food allergy that also is commonly confused with Celiac Disease or gluten-related disorders. However, a wheat allergy is completely different than any autoimmune disease or reaction to the protein of gluten. For example, someone with a what allergy can still eat rye, but not someone with Celiac. The biggest and most clearly important difference between a wheat allergy and an gluten disorder is that fact that it is a food allergy, and not an abnormal autoimmune reaction.
Wheat Allergy: A food protein stimulates the immune system to overreact, causing an allergic reaction that can have potentially fatal consequences. Symptoms include anaphylaxis, swelling, trouble breathing, hives, itching, cough, rash, shock, etc.
Celiac Disease: An autoimmune response to the protein gluten. This is an immune reaction that triggers an attack on the body, not the protein. Thus, autoimmune and not a food allergy.
If you have a wheat allergy, you are usually safe with all other grains but wheat and its derivatives. (Some people (20%) with wheat allergies, in rare cases, are sensitive to other grains as well.) So here is the list for food names and ingredients to look out for and avoid when you have a wheat allergy (not Celiac disease or gluten disorder).
As you can see, the list is very long, but does not contain the same things as the list of no-gluten. Someone with a wheat allergy can’t have wheat grass, yet it is presumed to be safe for someone with Celiac (although I’m still skeptical and like most Celiacs, stay far away)! So to conclude, a wheat allergy is a food allergy. It may be mild or severe enough and require an Epi-Pen. Celiac Disease is an autoimmune response to gluten, triggering an attack on the body (small intestine) and no Epi-Pen or Benadryl will help!Read More